What's the difference between dot three and dot four brake fluid?

DOT4 brake fluid has a higher boiling point than DOT3, making the fluid less likely to boil. Dot 3, 4, and 5.1 are glycol ether based. They are compatible, but like motor oils, you should use the recommended or higher grade fluid. Dot 4 and 5.1 also have borate ester to handle higher temperatures.