How do you do the heimlich maneuver?

Wrap arms around the choking person's waist. Make a fist with one hand and place the thumb side of your fist between the person's belly button and the lowest part of the ribs. Put your other hand over the fist and press your fist into the person's abdomen with a quick inward and upward thrust.