What does kim chi mean?

Kimchi is a Korean dish of salted and fermented vegetables, such as Napa, with such flavorings as garlic, ginger, chili peppers, and fish sauce. The word has also come to be used in the expression, "in deep kimchi," meaning to be in trouble, or in an awkward situation.