What are moccasins?

A moccasin is a soft leather slipper or shoe, strictly one without a separate heel, having the sole turned up on all sides and sewn to the upper in a simple gathered seam, in a style originating among North American Indians. A moccasin is also the name of a venomous American pit viper.