What happens when you tear your a. c. l.?

Most people who tear their ACL feel pain and a pop in their knee when the injury happens. Their knee usually gets swollen soon after the injury. After the swelling goes down, someone with an ACL tear usually can walk. But the knee may feel unstable and can give way & make the person stumble or fall.