What is a low yield nuclear weapon?

Low yield nublear weapons are warheads with explosive yields of 10 to 100 kilotons of dynamite. In contrast, the most powerful “strategic” nuclear warheads have explosive yields of 500 to 800 kilotons and are designed to destroy entire cities