What's the difference between sulfur and sulfate?

Sulfur is a base element. Sulfate is a compound of sulphur and oxygen. A sulfate molecule is formed from one sulfur atom, and four oxygen atoms. Sulfate can be absorbed by plant roots and is used in small quantities as fertilizer. Elemental sulfur is inert.