How far away is the lightning storm?

The rule of thumb to estimate how far away a lightning storm is to count in seconds the amount of time between when you see a lightning flash and when you hear the corresponding thunder. For every 5 seconds counted, that is equivalent to 1 mile away.

---

for every 5 seconds between lightning and thunder the distance is one mile. . Divide the seconds by 5 and you'll get the distance in miles