What is the name of layered mineral?

The answer to the crossword puzzle clue "Layered Mineral" would be MICA. Micas are a group of minerals whose outstanding physical characteristic is that individual mica crystals can easily be split into extremely thin elastic plates.

---

Mica is one example of a layered mineral.