How do you cook chestnuts?

The fastest way to cook chestnuts. Use a knife to score an “X” on the pointy end of each chestnut. Then, place the nuts on a microwave-safe plate, and microwave at one-minute intervals, until the outer shell starts to peel back slightly where you made your score (This usually takes 3-4 minutes.).

---

To boil and cook them completely in their skins, simmer for 15 to 25 minutes, then peel and enjoy. To roast chestnuts, make cuts in them. Place on a baking sheet in a preheated 400 F oven for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.