What's the difference between a timer and alarm?

To use an alarm, you set a specific point in time as a trigger. To use a timer, you choose a duration of time from any starting point and count until the duration has expired to set off a trigger.

---

An alarm triggers at a certain time in the future; a timer counts down from a starting time for a specified duration.