Why are cats so sleepy?

Cats sleep between an average of fifteen and twenty hours a day. Cats are most active at night. They need a lot of sleep to conserve energy and recharge before their next hunt. Even though house cats eat prepared cat food, your cat has retained its natural biological instinct to sleep a lot.