How much does a average horse cost?

You can find a good all-around horse for around $5,000. However, the average annual cost of horse ownership is $3,876 per horse. That puts the average monthly expense of keeping that horse anywhere from $200 to $325 – on par with a car payment. And that doesn't include stabling costs.