Tell me the history of eggnog?

Most historians agree eggnog originated from an early medieval British drink called posset, made with hot spiced milk curdled with wine or ale. Posset was used as a cold & flu remedy that remained popular well into the 19th century. The 1st printed use of “eggnog” appeared in New Jersey in 1788.