What's a baccalaureate?

There are two primary meanings for baccalaureate. 1) It is the degree of bachelor conferred by universities and colleges upon completion of a course of study lasting three to six years ... and 2) It is a sermon given to a graduating class, and/or the service at which this sermon is delivered.