How does a train engine work?

A Boiler heats water into steam. Each side of the engine has cylinders that contain a piston. The outside end of the piston is connected to the engines' wheels. Steam is allowed to enter the cylinder; it pushes on the piston. The outside end of the piston pushes on the wheel and the train moves.