What are squishies made for?

ORIGINATING IN JAPAN, squishies became available in the US in the spring of 2017. SQUISHY HISTORY PER WIKIPEDIA: Squishy is RECENT MEMBER of more general class of mindless manipulation toys, like stress balls &fidget spinners. Genre MAY BE SEEN AS VERY OLD, including e.g. 16th century cup&balltoy.