What is a matabolism?

Metabolism means the chemical processes occurring inside a living thing. The 3 purposes of metabolism are: conversion of food energy to cellular energy; conversion of food to building blocks for proteins, lipids, nucleic acids, and some carbohydrates; and elimination of metabolic wastes.