What's t. p. a.?

Tissue plasminogen activator (TPA) is an intravenous medicine given for ischemic stroke, a stroke caused by a blood clot, that can dissolve the stroke-causing clot. Studies show that people who receive TPA within 3 hours, up to 4.5 hours in some patients, have better and more complete recoveries