Why do we have christmas trees?

Since the 16th century people in Germany set up decorated green trees on Christmas. That tradition spread worldwide and people and kids love it, especially with lights and presents underneath it.

---

Christmas trees originate back to pagan roots, when Christianity started to mix with the pagan tradition of cutting down trees and decorating them. Christmas came when Emporer Constantine, the first Pope of Rome, changed the birth of the Sun God (winter solstice) with the birth of Jesus.