What is shady mean?

Shady, as a slang term, means less than open and honest, perhaps underhanded or improper. It can apply to people, as in [He is a shady character], or to situations or deals, as in [The deal was shady from the start]. In also means out of direct sunlight, as in [We found a shady spot to sit].