When were crayons made?

Crayons were invented in 1902 by cousins Edwin Binney and C. Harold Smith, founders of the Binney & Smith Co. of Easton, Pennsylvania. They began selling in 1903 under the name Crayola, a combination of the French words for chalk (craie) and oily (oleaginous).