How much does the average child cost?

The estimated cost of raising a child from birth through age 17 is $233,610 or as much as almost $14,000 annually, the Department of Agriculture says. That's the average for a middle-income couple with two children. It's a bit more expensive in urban parts of the country, and less in rural areas.