Do crabs breathe air?

Crabs breathe through gills. For to gills work, they must be able to take in oxygen and transport it into the animal's blood. The gills of crabs are located near the first pair of walking legs. The oxygen that crabs need is taken into the gills either through water or moisture in the air.