How do you tell the difference between a male and a female turtle?

The eyes of the male turtle are generally reddish, while the female turtle has deep brown eyes. The black claws of the male and female box turtles differ. The male’s toe is generally thick and curved and has small talons. The female’s toes are longer and slender with straighter talons.