How did chubby checker get his name?

Barbara Clark is credited with giving young Evans his stage name. He'd picked up the nickname 'Chubby' while working in a Philadelphia poultry market. When Barbara Clark met him he was working on his Fats Domino impression at the recording studio. She said “You're Chubby Checker, like Fats Domino.”