Why is tape called tape?

In fact, like most well-known product names, the tape got its name quite by accident. When Richard Drew brought the prototype of adhesive tape to the studio, and it cringed after painting, the worker said it was because the adhesive was applied only on edges, in simple words, because of parsimony.