What is auxiliary heat?

A set of electric heating elements used in conjunction with a heat pump. Auxiliary heat is activated when outside temperatures fall below the efficient operating range of the heat pump.

---

Auxiliary heat is used when the outside temperature is too low for your heat pump to provide enough heat. It is typically provided in your heating system by electrical elements and uses considerably more energy than the normal heat pump.