When did saint marino become a country?

The Republic of San Marino traces its origin as a city-state to early 4th century AD. According to tradition, St. Marinus and a group of Christians settled there escaping persecution. The Castellum Sancta Marini is noted in the Liber Pontificalis in 755; archives trace abbot of San Marino in 885.