Who is the first king of england to go on a crusade?

The first English king to go on a crusade was Richard the first. He was also known as Richard, The Lionheart. It was the third, and last, crusade from 1189 to 1192. Richard was captured shortly before Christmas 1192 near Vienna by Leopold of Austria and released for 100,000 pounds of silver ransom.