What are the canals on mars?

During the late 19th & early 20th centuries, it was erroneously believed that there were "canals" on the planet Mars. A network of long straight lines, they were first described by Giovanni Schiaparelli in 1877, who called them "canali" (channels), which was mis-translated into English as "canals".

---

Systems of long, straight linear markings on the surface of Mars that are now known to be illusions caused by the chance alignment of craters and other natural surface features seen in telescopes near the limit of resolution.