How many categories are there in the oscars?

Presently, the Academy Awards ceremony (the Oscars) has 24 categories, in which winners are announced. Apart from that, yet another set of award, known as the Students Academy Awards, is also presented by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, separately.