Where did the term sandbagging come from?

Morris of the Word Detective: the term originated from the game of poker whereby a player would hold off raising the stakes in order to lull the other players into a false sense of security. The sandbagger would pounce late in the game, clobbering the other players with his "sandbag" or good hand.