Can dogs taste capsaicin?

Dogs can experience the spiciness elicited by capsaicin, but they likely do not taste spicy foods as well as humans. Spiciness itself is more of a sensation than a flavor to taste. The same nerves that are stimulated by capsaicin are also stimulated by irritants like noxious heat and animal toxins.