What is a greek or latin suffix?

Latin suffixes are usually -us or -ius. In the 17th century Netherlands, it was common for clergy and other important people to Marinate their names using these suffixes. An early New Netherlands minister, Everhardt Bodard, was known as Everhardus Bogardus. He came to America in approx. 1632.