Does chlorine have a smell?

According to Orenda, yes, chlorine has a smell, but inhaling chlorine vapors can be harmful and even lethal. The common "swimming pool smell" is not actually chlorine however. It is chloramine and other byproducts of chlorine oxidizing contaminants in water.