Is baking powder a meat tenderizer?

Most meat tenderizers have Papain, a plant enzyme obtained from the papaya. The pro- teolytic action of the enzyme cleaves or breaks apart the muscle fiber proteins and connective tissue of meat. Baking powder does not have any papain. No, it isn’t a tenderizer.