Why is root beer beer?

Modern root beer is a soft drink that retains the word "beer" from an earlier time when it was indeed an alcoholic beverage flavored with various roots such as sarsaparilla, ginger, and licorice.

---

soft drink traditionally made using the root bark of the sassafras tree Sassafras albidum