How many overtimes are there in n. f. l. football?

During the regular season in the NFL, only one overtime period is played. If the game is still tied after the 10-minute overtime, the game formally ends in a tie. In the play-offs, the game cannot end in a tie, so they will play multiple overtimes if necessary.