What makes meat halal?

Halal food is that which adheres to Islamic law, as defined in the Koran. The Islamic form of slaughtering animals or poultry, dhabiha, involves a cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery & windpipe. Animals must be alive & healthy at the time of slaughter & all blood is drained from the carcass.