What's red dye forty?

Red Dye #40 is a certified color that comes from petroleum distillates or coal tars. The proper chemical name for Red40 is: 6-hydroxy-5-[(2-methoxy-5-methyl-4-sulfophenyl)azo]-2-naphthalenesulfonic acid. Quite a mouthful!