How does a brain freeze occur?

The way scientists think it works is this: Brain freeze happens when something cold hits the roof of your mouth, where it triggers your trigeminal nerve. During a brain freeze, blood vessels in your brain widen, sending a rush of blood to the roof of your mouth and, in the process, cause pain.