Why is thirteen a baker's dozen?

Because, in the 16th century, there were laws that related the price of bread to the price of wheat. Bakers who were found guilty of overpricing undersized loaves were subject to strict punishments. For fear of accidently coming up short, the baker threw in an extra loaf to be safe.