Is there a such thing as a black fox?

The black fox is in fact a red fox which is going through a phase where the color of its fur is particularly dark. The coloring is normally seen on cubs before the fox develops its dark chestnut coat, however some red foxes remain black due to a rare genetic flaw, which dates back hundreds of years.