What's the origin of the word cocktail?

In New Orleans, where an apothecary by the name of Peychaud (of bitters fame) served a mixed brandy drink in a French eggcup. Eventually the drink was named coquetier, the French term for an eggcup. Peychaud's guests shortened the name to 'cocktay,' and eventually it became 'cocktail.'”