What is roasted chicory?

Roasted Chicory is the root of the Chicory Plant that has been roasted and often ground into a powder. Chicory can be used as a flavoring and may have some mild medical properties. Roasted, ground Chicory was once used as a coffee substitute or mixed with coffee to make it go farther.