Why are beyblades called beyblades?

Beyblade (diminutive Bey, from the diminutive of beigoma) is a line of spinning-top toys originally developed by Takara, first released in Japan in July 1999, along with its debut series. Both the toys and their names were inspired by beigoma, a traditional spinning top.