How many beavers are in the united states?

The USA beaver population was once more than 60 million, but as of 1988 was 6–12 million. This population decline is from extensive hunting for fur, for glands used as medicine and perfume, and because the beavers' harvesting of trees and flooding of waterways may interfere with other land uses.[