How does barometric pressure work?

Barometric pressure is based on air pressure. Cold air is more dense and stays closer to Earth's surface, as high pressure goes to higher altitudes. High pressure generally happenes slowly and unnoticeable. Low pressure moves in quickly, usually you notice the drop in temperature, wind, etc...