What was the first canned food?

Conventional canning as we know it today began with Nicolas Appert, the original Food in Jars guy. A Parisian confectioner and chef, Nicolas began experimenting with preservation during the late 1700s, and he successfully preserved foodstuffs, such as soups, vegetables, juices.